Event Calendar
Check Prices
My Cart
My Account
Contact Us

BioQuip Undergraduate Scholarship
Winner 2012 - 2013

BioQuip sponsors a $2,000 annual scholarship to assist an undergraduate student planning to pursue a career in the field of entomology.

This year's scholarship recipient is AMANDA SKIDMORE. Amanda is a senior at the University of Kentucky, double majoring in entomology and sustainable agriculture. Her first entomological experience was with the 4-H Insects Project. Little did she know that this exposure to the insect world would have a lasting impact on her future.
Beginning in high school and continuing as an undergrad, Amanda has worked in both a medical entomology lab as well as the extension lab at UK. She has conducted various research experiments related to mosquitoes, including vector competency with Brugia pahangi (a microfilarial nematode), has determined infection types by using enzyme-linked immunosorbent assays (ELISA), and has maintained multiple insect colonies. She has submitted a paper concerning her research with several mosquito strains where patterns of conditional sterility (cytoplasmic incompatibility) caused by bacterial endosymbionts were observed. She has also conducted experiments in pollinator efficiency to determine the attractiveness of native wildflowers to wild bee populations in a central Kentucky agro-ecosystem.

Amanda's primary interests are insect ecology, biological control, and medical entomology. She hopes to continue her education by pursuing a Ph.D. in entomology. She is also very involved in the local community, and she volunteers with extension programs, is active in her church, and is training to be a modern Western square dance caller.

Visit the Entomological Foundation website to learn about eligibility and application information for the BioQuip Undergraduate Scholarship. Deadline for submission of applications for the 2013 - 2014 academic year is July 1.

BioQuip Undergraduate Scholarship Winners

1980 Richard H. Ebright (First awardee)

1981 Wayne Perry Worman, Jr.

1982 No winner on file

1983 David A. Krainacker

1984 No winner on file

1985 Erika Dismer

1986 Molly Donaldson

1987 Ian Ray

1988 Ellen Louise Kruger

1989 Stephen L. Dobson

1990 John Green

1991 Corey Gerber

1992 Jane Struttman

1993 Kirsten Copren

1994 Shirley Hart

1995 Rachel Eden

1996 Kara Cummings

1997 Mari Wolter

1998 David Osborne

1999 No Award

2000 Margaret Miller

2001 Ming Hua Huany

2002 Annie Inman

2003 Christina Coleman

2004 Seth Bybee

2005 Katie Hopp

2006 Jessica Awad

2007 Charles Mason

2008 Patricia Mullins

2009 Dale Halbritter

2010 Samantha Taylor

2011 Ginny Morgal

2012 Amanda Skidmore


Privacy Notice  | Help / Feedback   2001-2015 BioQuip Products, Inc.